Disaster Relief Program for Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson, Rutherford and Transylvania Counties to Open for Affected Producers

— Written By
en Español

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.

English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲
flooded field

Flooded crop field in Buncombe County.

Starting Nov. 6, 2019, farmers in Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson, Rutherford, and Transylvania counties will be able to sign up for the N.C. Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services Agricultural Disaster Program. The sign-up period will begin Nov. 6 and will end on Nov. 20.

The program will directly assist farmers who suffered losses to commodities, livestock, poultry, and aquaculture because of excessive rain and flooding that occurred between May 15, 2018, and Dec. 31, 2018. NCDA&CS will administer the program.

“Farmers need to take action now to get their Farm Service Agency forms in order so they will have the necessary documents to apply for assistance,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “I cannot stress enough that producers need to file their applications during the sign-up period. There will be no extensions to this deadline.”

Producers in these five counties who experienced a verifiable crop loss as a result of excessive rain and flooding that occurred during the time period, will need to go to their local United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency office to file the necessary paperwork for FSA Form 578. This is a required document in the application process for producers who experienced loss with apples, corn for grain, grass, tomatoes, or other field crops.

Producers without a 2018 FSA Form 578 on file can request a manual form at their local USDA Service Center/FSA Office. Please start this process as soon as possible. It could take up to 30 days to complete.

For application instructions and access to the application portal, go to the Agricultural Disaster Program (Program) of 2018 website.

Local FSA and N.C. Cooperative Extension offices will be available to assist farmers with applications. For more information, visit the Agricultural Disaster Program (Program) of 2018 website or call 1-866-645-9403.

Disaster relief program for Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson, Rutherford, and Transylvania counties to open for affected producers