Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Steve Duckett, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSteve DuckettCounty Extension Director (828) 255-5522 (Office) steve_duckett@ncsu.eduBuncombe County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Holly Jordan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionHolly JordanExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 255-5522 (Office) holly_jordan@ncsu.eduBuncombe County Center

Administration

Photo of Brandy Hansen, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrandy HansenCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 255-5522 (Office) brandy_hansen@ncsu.eduBuncombe County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Alison Arnold, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAlison ArnoldExtension Agent, Agriculture - Consumer Horticulture (828) 255-5522 (Office) alison.arnold@ncsu.eduBuncombe County CenterPhoto of Meghan Baker, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMeghan BakerExtension Agent, Agriculture (828) 255-5522 (Office) meghan_baker@ncsu.eduBuncombe County CenterPhoto of Noah Henson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionNoah HensonArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock, Dairy, Equine, Forages (828) 255-5522 (Office) nbhenson@ncsu.eduBuncombe County CenterPhoto of Clifford Ruth, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionClifford RuthArea Agent and Regional Certification Program Coordinator, Agriculture (828) 255-5522 (Office) cdruth@ncsu.eduBuncombe County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Cathy Hohenstein, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCathy Hohenstein, RDExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 255-5522 (Office) cathy_hohenstein@ncsu.eduBuncombe County Center

Other

Photo of Jessica Hughes, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJessica HughesAdministrative Assistant (828) 250-4870 jessica.hughes@buncombecounty.orgBuncombe County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Buncombe County Center, they may not be present in the Buncombe County Center. Please contact the Buncombe County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 babuchan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Center Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Skip Thompson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSkip ThompsonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 13 Counties and EBCIBased out of Haywood(828) 456-3575 (Office) Skip_Thompson@ncsu.eduHaywood County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center